KDE 4.0 coming a month later

23Jul07

For the people reading the commit-digest.org from last weekend (http://commit-digest.org/issues/2007-07-22/) already noticed what was posted by mail:

No, I don't think we are ready for a beta release and the API + Feature Freeze that goes with a beta release.

I think we should tag an Alpha3 on 25 July and extend our freeze dates forward another month.

Then try again for a Beta1 on 25 Aug.

This probably means delaying KDE 4.0 for at least 1 month, ie. 23 Nov.

So I don’t want to say “I knew ahead of time” but that just how it was. Hopefully this time is used to produce real stable code and help people out like the Ark developer: “I’m afraid I won’t be able to write any more plugins before the feature freeze – mostly because the API for plugins is not ready yet, and there’s still some very basic features, such as removing entries from an archive, that aren’t implemented yet. File Manager integration also remains undone. Any help would be really appreciated.

4.0 still seems to look risky to me but I my hopes are up when I watch some nice little Plasma screencasts by Aaron Seigo. Thank you Aaron.

No Responses Yet to “KDE 4.0 coming a month later”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

