Dell “dumps” Ubuntu: The Linux sell-out???

28May07

Okay I thought it would happen and they did do it. Dell basicly dumped Ubuntu in a way. They put it on the website and made it look like its only for the technic guys and the geeks and the whatsoevers… and its not even really integrated in the real website but in an extra part of it including a special WARNING message… Linux is coming… be afraid.

The worst thing that comes into the game too is that Mark Shuttleworth is now getting the credit for being a Linux hero? Well he was the guy who took some money and pulled together an acceptabel distro that worked pretty well out of the box. WHAT CAN’T MONEY BUY??? He is the same sellout as Apple. The iPhone the unexpected expected super-mobile-phone!? Both of them just put the things together people like you and me were saying for years and the are now starting to make money of it! I hope Mark will put it back into the community. The person who should really get some credit is Linus Torvalds and other people maybe around the GNOME team and so on. Mark did play a role but a well paid one.

I know a very critical way to look upon these things but thats the way I look upon this deal. Another one of the downsides of this deal is that, right now, it’s USA-only which totally sucks! I heard this argument all around the web already but I will repeat it: Europe is the part of the world where Ubuntu has its origins so an intelligent business man would sell it were it already is having a great audience… well done Dell. Well done Mark.

4 Responses to “Dell “dumps” Ubuntu: The Linux sell-out???”

  1. sugar,,,,, and all this while i’m hoping it’d show up in malaysia….
    with other firms ( acer, HP compaq) offering freedos/ linux…. dell is losing out much market share….. they are poor planners i say,,,

  2. Hi, all is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is sharing information,
    that’s truly good, keep up writing.

  3. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa?
    My site goes over a lot of the same subjects as
    yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you are interested feel free to send me an email.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

  4. I believe what you posted was very logical. But, what about this?
    what if you typed a catchier title? I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your website, but what if you added a post title that makes people desire more? I mean Dell dumps Ubuntu: The Linux sell-out??? | Peter P. Parker critical views on Linux is a little plain. You should glance at Yahoo’s front page
    and see how they create news headlines to get viewers interested.
    You might add a related video or a picture or two to get people excited
    about what you’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it could make your blog a little bit more interesting.


Leave a Reply

